Testimonials

Some of our most recent Trip Advisor Reviews:

“Just lovely!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 April 2014 My wife and I spent the weekend at Jonah’s and thoroughly enjoyed it. We only left the hotel twice to go to the beach. The accommodation is very private, comfortable and quiet. The food and wine in the restaurant were very good. The service throughout was excellent -professional, attentive, discrete. Peaceful, elegant and tranquil, good for the soul! Well worth a visit! Thanks Mohan and the team. best Larry and Cindy M

“Surprise” Reviewed 20 February 2014 

My partner took me for surprise dinner to Jonah’s.

Very friendly and elegant manager in a bow tie offered us to have a pre dinner drink on balcony.

We had amazing cocktails but especially Smoked Fig cocktail is to die for.

After couple of cocktails we moved in to the restaurant for degustation.

We didn’t have a window table but never mind. I had my partner there and finally we had time to enjoy amazing food in a romantic atmosphere in our busy life.

My favourite dish was definitely duck with peaches. Yum

Staff was very knowledgeable. They explained every single dish and always with the smile.

We visited Jonah’s year ago for lunch. Now they have better food and definitely better staff.

Thanks to my partner and Jonah’s team to make our Valentine’s Day very special.

“splendid service” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 February 2014  The staff and service of the whole team is extremely nice and accommodating food is very good and the looks are great. location is fantastic. design is very clean, history of the place would allow some more antiques if ever I were to comment

5 of 5 stars“Unwind, celebrate, indulge Reviewed 17 February 2014 We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Jonah’s over a long weekend in January.

The service is just faultless. We were greeted at the door so warmly, taken on a personal tour of the restaurant and accommodation, where chocolates & champagne on ice were awaiting.

 

The view is spectacular. Overlooking the ocean, we immediately got into our robes and enjoyed the champagne on the balcony (a small space, but perfectly sized for a couple). It’s the perfect place to unwind and forget the world.

We also celebrated our anniversary with the most delicious dinner at Jonah’s restaurant. It’s no wonder this is such a coveted place to dine. Staff are so attentive and accommodating, and every detail is executed to perfection here.  We were delighted with our first two courses, (and too stuffed for dessert) – so decided to head back to our room – where we were greeted with a fruit platter that said ‘happy anniversary’ on it! They really do go out of their way to make you feel like a VIP.

It’s a romantic destination – far away enough from the city, to help you relax, but close enough that you don’t spend half your day getting there. Loved every moment.

“Had lunch and even on a rainy day..fabulous” 5 of 5 starsStayed February 2014 This is just a magnificent setting. Even on a rainy day we watched surfers attacking the waves. Mining roomies absolutely beautiful and worth the visit itself if you like clean contemporary but elegant. We had oysters, crab salad, salmon and lamb rump and cheese tray and everyone loved their meal

“Just as good ten years later” 5 of 5 starsStayed February 2014, travelled as a couple We came here for our 1 year and our 10 year anniversaries – some décor has been updated but the service and that wonderful view is the same. From the first step you make into this property, everything is taken care of for you, and your needs are anticipated very well. I am coeliac and this was not a problem for the restaurant staff. I mentioned it once and thereafter every single server knew about it and confirmed before I even asked that each amuse-bouche and palette cleanser was gf, and that my meal choices had also been adapted to my requirements. They had house-made gf bread which was small but nice, and numerous choices. In regards to the room, it was just as good as I remember, including air-con, nice deck with adirondack chairs and completely private.  Coffee is vittoria brand and plunger, tea is la maison du thé. Overall, the devil is in the detail here – and the staff at Jonah’s excel in these details. Highly recommend

“Stunning New Year’s Eve meal” 5 of 5 starsReviewed 14 January 2014  Came for the 6 course degustation NYE meal and it was really worth the money. The food was fantastic and the view is out of this world overlooking the Pacific. The meal had the offer of matching wines and these really complimented the food. Service was fantastic too and you felt welcomed. You can see why the top celebrities stay here. Superb

“The Complete Package” Reviewed 2 January 2014 We stayed for a Christmas through to New year family holiday with a birthday in between. The service was so friendly and the food was excellent whether it was breakfast, lunches or dinners and they really excelled for Christmas lunch and New Years Eve. You can very comfortably entertain European visitors who maybe well acquainted with Relais and Chateau experiences at Jonah’s and know they will be most impressed. And the view is stunning and the accommodations superb.

“Absolutely stunning and impeccable service” Reviewed 21 December 2013 We went after the beach and were made to feel so welcome. We were blown away by the views and the sumptuous setting. The cocktail list was to die for!! Would love to go back and stay in the hotel!

“Another amazing experience at Jonahs!” Reviewed 8 December 2013 As per our last visit, the staff were wonderful, the food was mouth watering and the views just fabulous. I can’t recommend this enough.

Outstanding” Reviewed 24 November 2013 You cannot beat Jonah’s on a beautiful day. Their service was outstanding and the food, wine and cocktails were absolutely delish! You totally get an amazing experience when you go there. After lunch we had coffee and petit fours down on the grass in beach chairs. So relaxed and stunning. It is a special place to go

“Amazing experience, especially with sommeliers advice” Reviewed 3 November 2013 My wife and I went here to celebrate a special occasion and experience one of the few Relais & Chateaux properties near Sydney. We started with a drink in the bar, and finished this in the garden. Despite the other patrons and a wedding, we felt like we had our own private waiter. We seated early to catch the sunset and views of Whale Beach from our window seat. We ordered our entrees, oysters and the pork belly. We did have to wait a little for the sommelier, but this was definitely worth it. The wine with each course was beautiful, he recommended wines we would never have found ourselves, paired very well, and accounted for our different tastes. For mains we had the Wagyu and Trevella which were both perfectly done, and again matched with a lovely unique wine, a German Pinot Noir. All in all a great experience, the sommelier was definitely the stand out. Although, I could see the service suffering once the dining room filled up, so arrive early. Take some time to absorb the view and serenity in the gardens, or a drink in the bar before dinner.

“Beautiful view complimented by lovely food” 4 of 5 starsReviewed 28 October 2013 We had a set menu for a hens day with a choice from two options for each course. The food was lovely and the service was great! The lovely meal was complimented with an amazing view!

5 of 5 stars“Fine food, exquisite views and Tattinger” Reviewed 22 October 2013 Who wouldn’t love Jonah’s with sweeping views of the northern beaches, flavoursome and well presented dishes as well as staff that are professional and friendly. Breakfast lunch or dinner Jonah’s is delightful.

A wonderful dining experience

“Incredible, memorable experience – highly recommended We recently booked an overnight stay and dinner at Jonah’s to celebrate my husbands birthday. We checked into our room which had the most incredible view I have ever seen from a hotel. Words cannot describe the breathtaking location and endless horizon outlook. Even in winter – it is amazing!
We drove five mintues up the roadspector iconic Palm Beach and played 9 holes of golf on the course that is bordered by Pittwater sailboats on one sude and the surf of the Pacific Ocean on its right – and incredibly – open to the public. After indulging in our spa bath (with heated floors!) we floated up to dinner in the restaurant. This was not our first dining experience at Jonah’s and I must say it even exceeded the wonderful memories of our previous visit. We ordered the Harvey Bay Prawn tortellini, scallops, Cone Bay Barramundi and the Mill Hill Lamb. They were ALL amazing and the perfectly balanced flavours and portions. We even went for a dessert – which we rarely do – and were so happy we did! A Chocolate Souffle w a Baileys infused anglais and espresso ice cream – made to order – was utterly amazing!! The service was faultless – everyone knew their stuff and were gracious, helpful and informative to a very high standard. The wine list is another story altogether – something like 1200+ entries – astonishing! Highly recommended – a very special experience indeed

“Spectacular view..beautiful food” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 June 2013 I took my wife for her birthday along with mother-in-law and 2 small children here for lunch,
It was as absolutely stunning and the food was first-rate. It’s not an obvious place for children but they were very well attended to. You could see some of the other diners had come by seaplane-wow and certainly more flash than our people-carrier

“Best Restaurant in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 June 2013 Love this Restaurant – Food/Wine/Service/position/atmosphere. I always take overseas visitors here and whilst overseas in the last 6 weeks have constantly been told how good their visit was to Jonahs.

“Fine diner with a view to die for” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 June 2013 Jonah’s has a long history at Whale Beach (Jonah’s, get it?). Currently it has a newish chef and the food and total experience is first class (as is the bill of course). This is 4 star dining at its freshest. Jonah’s is wonderful for lunch on a sunny day as it sits high above Whale Beach and the view is nothing short of sensational. A top level experience, not your everyday diner.

“Amazing location” Reviewed 2 June 2013 I went here recently had a truly wonderful dinner. The location is great and the food is top notch. Would recommend to anyone!

“So relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 May 2013
Had dinner at Jonah’s on a Saturday night and stayed the night in one of their 12 rooms. The small number of rooms means it’s not crowded, it’s quiet, and the restaurant food is excellent.
The staff are wonderful – every single one of them was courteous, helpful, knowledgeable, attentive…..and you could have a laugh with them if that’s what you wanted. Oh – and what a view of the coastline from your room, from the terrace, from the restaurant.

“Superb dining at Jonah’s” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 April 2013
Jonah’s is a very special Sydney restaurant as it has excellent food and enjoys a spectacular view from its high vantage point overlooking the Pacific Ocean.The food is excellent and the massive wine list more so.Enjoy the food and discuss your choice of wine wih the extremely knowledgeble sommelier.

“Great food – great view – great service” Reviewed 15 April 2013 NEW
This is a bit of a drive out of Sydney but worth it. On a good day you can watch the hang gliders jumping of the cliff and flying past the window. It is in a perfect situation with magnificent views over the ocean. Even if the food was mediocre (which it isn’t) it is worth the trip just for the ambience

“Family lunch” Reviewed 8 April 2013
The venue is welcoming and all class, the friendly staff are attentive without hovering and the food is a joy to both the eye and the pallet. Thankyou for a lovely family lunch and a treasured memory.

“Wonderful lunch at Jonah’s” Reviewed 5 April 2013
My friend and I had a wonderful Friday lunch at Jonah’s. We were greeted by friendly staff and seated in a booth with the most amazing views of Whale Beach.
After perusing their marvellous menu we ordered the Fruits de mer to share and a delicious bottle of white wine. When our meal arrived it was an extraordinary 3 tier tower full of delightful selections of cold and hot seafood bursting with flavour, it was a feast for both the eyes and the palette.
The service was impressive, the staff were attentive and professional – I can highly recommend Jonah’s, hoping to have a longer lunch next time and stay in the Boutique hotel!!!

“Stunning Views, Fabulous Food” Reviewed 24 March 2013
We were married here last year and we just spent our 1st wedding anniversary here. With some stunning views and access to some great beaches Jonah’s is a must stay.
The service is faultless, rooms are well appointed, clean and private.

“Fantastic stay at Jonahs” Reviewed 22 March 2013
Amazing stay at Jonahs, second time round for a family celebration. Service, food, staff and accommodation were faultless, in so far as we have booked 5 rooms for next year. Everyone deserves a slice of heaven on earth!

“But wait, there was more” Reviewed 22 March 2013
Food exceptional, good size meals, great choice, well presented, and taste sensational. Could not fault the service. Great for that special night.

“Will DEFINITELY be back soon !” Reviewed 19 March 2013
EVERYTHING was perfect from the standard of the food to the service and the appointment of the room. Jonah’s is a small, uncomplicated hotel & restaurant & suited our brief stay. We will definitely go back for other special celebrations & hope to stay for a few days next visit.

Delicious food, beautiful views, attentive service.” Reviewed 27 February 2013
What a wonderful restaurant. As so many reviewers have also noted it appears to have it all: food that shows off delicious local Australian produce; a wine list that has something for everyone’s taste and every dish; a view that is inspiring complimented by the calming decor; and service that is friendly whilst attentive. We visited this restaurant and having travelled from the northern hemisphere we were all delighted with our experience. Jonah’s certainly revivals the numerous Michelin star establishments we have visited elsewhere and we are very glad we made time to visit with our Sydney friends, to what we were told is an iconic Sydney restaurant. It certianly deserve this title.

“World class food, service and views” Reviewed 15 February 2013
I have lived in Sydney for over 5 years and have dined at many terrific restaurants in this wonderful city but Jonah’s easily tops them all. The views are simply magical, the food is creative and delicious and the service could not be better. A small oasis of heaven for that truly special occasion. Places like this make life a joy.

“Great boutique luxury hotel” Reviewed 16 January 2013
I’ve been lucky enough to stay here on a few occasions and it’s pretty special. With only a small number of rooms this is a truly “boutique” hotel, luxuriously appointed and with stunning views. I’ve stayed both in the main accommodation which is in the same building as the restaurant and bar, as well as rooms in the ” private residence” next door. I do love the private residence as guests have direct use of the swimming pool, a large lounge area which feels more like a luxury holiday house than a hotel. The rooms in both are great, with the room balconies being larger in the main accommodation building, however I still prefer the private residence rooms because it seems just that, ” more private”. Either way, a stay at Jonahs is a must do.
• Room Tip: Make sure to enjoy either lunch or dinner in Jonahs restaurant. ( Be careful not to miss breakfast)..

“Not a lot wrong with this as an experience” Reviewed 14 January 2013
My wife and I stayed at Jonahs as a part of a package deal that included a seaplane flight up from Sydney Harbour as well as food and accommodation. As a chill out location it would take some beating. Stunning views from the well appointed rooms allowed for complete privacy overlooking the ocean. The dining was also quality with an excellent menu and wines that added to the overall experience. We had breakfast there as well and also an impromptu lunch on arrival. None of which disappointed. As something special we can recommend Jonah’s. We will be back.

“If I could give Jonah’s a six out of five, I would” Reviewed 12 November 2012
I just can’t fault Jonah’s, from the gracious and friendly staff, the phenomenal cocktails, the million dollar setting and views, the delicious food and wonderful ambience. Love it. I hope to be back the next time I’m in Australia.

“Blissful weekend away” Reviewed 19 July 2012
Great location and spectacular views. Everything was excellent from the food all the way through to the massage therapist. I highly recommend the Pear and Ginger martinis. The salmon was phenomenal as well